This is a quick tutorial to help you move all your assets out of your Exodus wallet if you decide Exodus wallet is not for you.
Warning: If you delete your wallet, all your crypto and transaction history will be permanently deleted from your device. You will only be able to recover your funds with your secret key. If you delete your wallet and your funds, you do so at your own risk.
In this article:
How do I move my assets out and leave Exodus?
Mobile
Securing your crypto before moving away from Exodus is important to avoid losing access. Start by exporting a copy of your transaction history for your records. Then choose one of the following options:
Option A: Back up your 12-word secret key on paper by following this guide. Then, choose a new wallet and import your secret key to access your existing funds.
Option B: Individually send your assets to your new wallet by following this guide. Before sending, make sure your new wallet is set up to receive each asset.
Once you have double-checked that you have backed up your secret key or sent out all of your crypto, you can delete your Exodus wallet on your mobile device: How do I delete my wallet and start over?
On iOS, your Exodus app's iCloud backup might contain your secret key. If someone gets access to your device, they could use it to access your iCloud backup and get access to your Exodus wallet and funds. To avoid this, delete old Exodus app iCloud backups by following Apple's guide: Manage your iCloud storage.
Before deleting, ensure you have written down your 12-word secret key.
If you've backed up Exodus with iCloud, your backup file and passkey are stored in your iCloud account. Don't delete your backup file or passkey. You'll not be able to restore with iCloud if you delete them. Only delete old Exodus app iCloud backups.
Desktop
Securing your crypto before moving away from Exodus is important to avoid losing access. Start by exporting a copy of your transaction history for your records. Then choose one of the following options.
Option A: Back up your 12-word secret key on paper by following this guide. Then, choose a new wallet and import your secret key to access your existing funds.
Option B: Individually send your assets to your new wallet by following this guide. Before sending, make sure your new wallet is set up to receive each asset.
Once you have double-checked that you have backed up your secret key or sent out all of your crypto, you can delete your Exodus wallet from your computer: How do I delete my wallet and start over?
Web3 Wallet
Securing your crypto before moving away from Exodus is important to avoid losing access. Start by exporting a copy of your transaction history for your records. Then choose one of the following options:
Option A: Back up your 12-word secret key on paper by following this guide. Then, choose a new wallet and import your secret key to access your existing funds.
Option B: Individually send your assets to your new wallet by following this guide. Before sending, make sure your new wallet is set up to receive each asset.
Once you have double-checked that you have backed up your secret key or sent out all of your crypto, you can delete your Exodus Web3 Wallet: How do I delete my wallet and start over?
